Royal Challengers Bangalore looking to wake up from their slumber

When disappointment throws itself up in your face, you have no place to hide; the spotlight will be flush bright on you now. Because you are the one who is meant to succeed. And when you can’t live up to your levels, people will talk, they will point fingers. That’s what the present situation is, for the Royal Challengers Bangalore right now.

After a fiery IPL season in 2016, which saw them earn their third runner-up trophy of IPL, RCB had the most dreadful season in 2017. Very often when we try to reach for the stars and are very close to doing so, we can’t get the satisfaction until we achieve our goals. It pretty much sums up the current predilection of the RCB.

Before 2016, RCB had been runner-up in the IPL twice. With Gayle, De Villiers, and Kohli, they had always looked like a formidable side – a team the opponents would fear, especially their bowlers. If any of these three players went on a roll, they could turn a match and make it a living nightmare for the opponents within moments.

It has seemed that whenever it mattered the most, even the most talented of men from the RCB let the nerves take over and fall short of their abilities. This has made RCB the only team with multiple IPL Finals yet no title. However good they are, it seemed that all of that disappointment was going to manifest itself into something of disastrous proportions.

That is exactly what happened to RCB in IPL 2017. Of the 14 matches they played in the season they won only 3 and lost as many as 10 (One match ended in no result). This is not only their own worst performance but also one of the worst seasons for any team in the history of IPL.


Main Headline Players in Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2018

M. Chinnaswamy Stadium remains the home venue for Royal Challengers in IPL 2018. Sri Lankan stalwart Mahela Jayawardene will be the coach of Mumbai Indians.

Virat Kohli, as expected, will once again be captain of RCB for IPL 2018. Kohli’s abilities as a leader have drawn praise from international quarters and there is just no reason why they will think of anybody else leading the team. It was the biggest motivation in Kohli being bought at a hefty sum of Rs. 17 crores.

AB De Villiers is always one of the most trusted soldiers of any team he plays for. Whatever the situation demands, AB has time and again held his ground. He is capable of changing the whole course of any game, sending sudden shock waves down the spine of his opponents. He was priced at a high Rs. 11 crores for IPL 2018.

Yuzvendra Chahal is a new name to the list of spinning sensations that India has been producing for decades. For the last one year, he has lit up the scene for the India team international cricket, especially during the recently concluded tour of South Africa. At Rs. 6 crores, he looks more like a bargain for his team.

Chris Woakes has displayed his all-rounder abilities in the recent years and of late, has become more than an asset for his team. He was bought at Rs. 7.4 crores at this year’s IPL auction; the RCB would want to see him become an asset to them too.

Among other players worth mentioning is Brendon McCullum at Rs. 3.6 crores, Quinton de Kock at Rs. 2.2 crores. All in all, RCB has enough talent within to make them fly high this time. After their last year’s performance was at such low levels, they should shrug it off as just one season of aberration and start afresh again.

List of Players bought by Mumbai Indians at IPL 2018 Auction

Player Country Price Specialization
Virat Kohli India 17 crores Batsman
AB de Villiers South Africa 11 crores Batsman
Chris Woakes England 7.4 crores All-rounder
Yuzvendra Chahal India 6 crores Bowler
Umesh Yadav India 4.2 crores Bowler
Brendon McCullum New Zealand 3.6 crores Batsman
Washington Sundar India 3.2 crores All-rounder
Navdeep Saini India 3 crores Bowler
Quinton de Kock South Africa 2.8 crores Wicket-keeper
Mohammed Siraj India 2.6 crores Bowler
Colin de Grandhomme New Zealand 2.2 crores All-rounder
Nathan Coulter-Nile New Zealand 2.2 crores Bowler
Murugan Ashwin India 2.2 crores Bowler
Sarfaraz Khan India 1.75 crores Batsman
Moeen Ali England 1.7 crores All-rounder
Parthiv Patel India 1.7 crores Wicket-keeper
Mandeep Singh India 1.4 crores Batsman
Manan Vohra India 1.1 crores Batsman
Pawan Negi India 1 crore All-rounder
Tim Southee New Zealand 1 crore Bowler
Kulwant Khejroliya India 85 lakhs Bowler
Aniket Choudhary India 30 lakhs Bowler
Pawan Deshpande India 20 lakhs All-rounder
Aniruddha Joshi India 20 lakhs All-rounder