IPL 2018: Team Preview and Player List of Delhi Daredevils

In this post, we are going to share all the information about the Indian Premier League Cricket T20 Team Delhi Daredevils in the upcoming IPL 2018 Tournament

Delhi Daredevils looking for the push ahead

Team Preview and Player List of Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2018

Team Preview and Player List of Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2018

In any classroom, there is always one student who seems brilliant and talented but on the mark sheet, he comes off as an average student. For all the brilliance and all the potential, there seems to be something missing. This has been the story of Delhi Daredevils in the 10 seasons of IPL so far.

Delhi Daredevils Indian Premier League Team’s List of Names

Looking at the list of names of those who have played for Delhi Daredevils in these 10 seasons of Indian Premier League, one has to say that they have been among the best teams to have ever appeared in the IPL tournament. Some of the statistics go to prove that too.

In the first 5 seasons of IPL, the Delhi Daredevils ended at the summit of the IPL table on two different occasions, in 2009 and 2012.


Get Daily FREE News Updates from Kalaburagi News directly in your INBOX.


Unfortunately for the Delhi Daredevils, the piece of paper listing their achievements will not show anything more. Today, the Capital-based franchise stands as one of the only two teams who has never made the final of the Indian Premier League. Until 2014, they shared that discreditable acclaim with the Kings XI Punjab. Shocking everyone, it was Kings XI Punjab who managed to get the monkey off its back first. Three years have gone by, and the Delhi Daredevils are yet to achieve that feat.

They had Virender Sehwag, AB de Villiers. And later on, they brought in the likes of Dilshan, Kevin Pietersen, Mahela Jayawardene, and Ross Taylor. Add to that, they had the bowling line-up consisting of Daniel Vettori, Ashish Nehra, and Dirk Nannes.

But when the going got tough, everything went wrong for the team. Their talents and their strengths were never enough to overcome their one big weakness, that of temperament.


Main Headline Players in Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2018

Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium will be the home venue for Delhi Daredevils in IPL 2018. Ricky Ponting takes over as the Coach of DD.

Gautam Gambhir Captain of Delhi Daredevils 2018

Gautam Gambhir Captain of Delhi Daredevils 2018

Gautam Gambhir Captain of Delhi Daredevils 2018

Gautam Gambhir has been a veteran cricketer both in Indian Premier League and for the Indian National Cricket team. He has previously led Kolkata Knight Riders to victory in two different seasons. Though the Daredevils are yet to formally announce their captain, Gambhir will be their likely choice. But now, his performance is on the downward trend.

Gautam Gambhir IPL auction Price in Indian Premier League 2018

Gautam Gambhir, Captain of DD (Delhi Daredevils) 2018 IPL (Indian Premier League)

Gautam Gambhir, Captain of DD (Delhi Daredevils) 2018 IPL (Indian Premier League)

Gautam Gambhir was bought for a low Rs. 2.8 crores, but it may turn out to be the buy of the season if Gambhir delivers on levels he is known for.

Update Mar 8, 2018: Gautam Gambhir announced the Captain of Delhi Daredevils 2018


Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell Delhi Daredevils

Glenn Maxwell DD (Delhi Daredevils, IPL Teammate)

Glenn Maxwell has been one of the best T20 players across the World for a long time. He holds the record for the highest international T20 score at 145. He is also the highest purchase for Delhi Daredevils at Rs. 9 crores.

Chris Morris

chirs morris Delhi Daredevils

Chirs Morris DD (Delhi Daredevils, IPL Teammate)

Chris Morris is known for his all-around skills in the limited overs format. For an overseas player, he gets priced high at Rs. 7.1 crores. Mohammad Shami may seem like a great buy at just Rs. 3 crores. However, after his domestic problems went public recently, his contract was suspended by BCCI.

Kagiso Rabada has been one of the best bowlers in the World over the past year in all formats including IPL. He was one of the best grabs for the Delhi-based franchise at Rs. 4.2 crores.

With Gambhir in the side, likely as their captain, they might finally get the push they have been needing for so many years.

Mohammed Shami is almost set to miss IPL as DD has announced they’re consulting with BCCI to review his case. Shami has been leveled with serious domestic abuse and adultery charges by his wife Hasin Jahan. This is a big PR nightmare for the player, the franchise, and for BCCI. It will make sense if both DD and BCCI keep him out of play until he comes clean out of it.

Update March 24, 2018: Mohammed Shami has been cleared of all Match-Fixing related allegations by the Anti-Corruption Unit (ACU) of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Mohammed Shami will be joining Delhi Daredevils Team and be playing IPL 2018 


List of all players bought by Delhi Daredevils at IPL 2018 Auction

In the list below we have mentioned all the players that were bought in the IPL 2018 Auction and these players will be playing for Delhi Daredevils in the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018.


Delhi Daredevil Player Country Price  Specialization of the IPL Player
Glenn Maxwell Australia 9 crores All-rounder
Rishabh Pant India 8 crores Wicket-keeper
Chris Morris South Africa 7.1 crores All-rounder
Shreyas Iyer India 7 crores Batsman
Kagiso Rabada South Africa 4.2 crores Bowler
Amit Mishra India 4 crores Bowler
Vijay Shankar India 3.2 crores All-rounder
Shahbaz Nadeem India 3.2 crores Bowler
Rahul Tewatia India 3 crores All-rounder
Mohammed Shami* India 3 crores Bowler
Gautam Gambhir India 2.8 crores Batsman
Trent Boult New Zealand 2.2 crores Bowler
Colin Munro New Zealand 1.9 crores All-rounder
Dan Christian Australia 1.5 crores All-rounder
Jason Roy England 1.5 crores Batsman
Naman Ojha India 1.4 crores Wicket-keeper
Prithvi Shaw India 1.2 crores Batsman
Gurkeerat Mann Singh India 75 lakhs Batsman
Avesh Khan India 70 lakhs Bowler
Abhishek Sharma India 55 lakhs All-rounder
Jayant Yadav India 50 lakhs All-rounder
Manoj Kalra India 20 lakhs Batsman
Harshal Patel India 20 lakhs Bowler
Sayan Ghosh India 20 lakhs Bowler
Sandeep Lamichhane Nepal 20 lakhs Bowler