Indian Cricket finally has something of a global scale to cherish on its own. The IPL proved to be the biggest boon for the fans and the BCCI alike. It tried to create a distinctive identity of its own from the beginning.

Since the start of the Indian Premier League, it has tried to distinguish itself from the other modes of Cricket, especially International Cricket. The domestic Cricket leagues in England and Australia were well known not only to their players, but also the fans around the World. One could ask any Cricket fan in India about the names of a couple of English county team and the better chances were that he would have heard it.

Long before IPL started, there had already been numerous Cricket tournaments full of hullabaloo and extravaganza. The first Cricket World Cup took place in 1975. Back in those times, however, there were no special awards for the players who excelled with the bat and the ball. Just organising a big tournament like that was all that the sponsors could guarantee.

As time went on, however, the money increased, and hence the power of the sponsors increased too. Still, the only way they found of rewarding the best performers of the game was Man of the Match and Man of the Tournament.

Here’s where the IPL stepped up. The eagerness the franchise league showed to make a brand image of its own was tremendous. Not only would they be handing out the already existing awards in the cricket jargon, but they would also reward the players for various kinds of performances in various categories.


What is the Orange Cap award in IPL?

Orange Cap Award in IPL was started on 25th April, 2008. The player who scores the most amount of runs in a particular season of the league will be awarded the Orange Cap. This is a distinctive achievement throughout the season, and IPL found a way to reward the player in a suitable manner. The highest scorer in the league at any point in time would get to wear the Orange cap during the matches.

At the end of the tournament, the highest run-getter of the season gets the Orange Cap Award.

Here is the list of first ten winners of IPL Orange Cap Award:

Year Orange Cap

Award Winner

Team Runs
2008 Shaun Marsh KXIP 616
2009 Matthew Hayden CSK 572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar MI 618
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 608
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 733
2013 Michael Hussey CSK 733
2014 Robin Uthappa KKR 660
2015 David Warner SRH 562
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 973
2017 David Warner SRH 641


What is the Purple Cap award in IPL?

Purple Cap Award in IPL was started on 13th May, 2008. Just like the highest scorer in the tournament, the best bowler would also get a distinctive recognition from the IPL. The highest Wicket-taker of the tournament can wear a Purple cap on the field at any point in the tournament.  The Purple Cap is awarded to the highest Wicket-taker of the season at the end of the tournament

In case of a tie, economy rate is the tie-breaker and the player with lower economy rate wins the award.

Here is the list of first ten winners of IPL Purple Cap Award:


Year Purple Cap

Award Winner

Team Wickets
2008 Sohail Tanvir RR 22
2009 RP Singh DC 23
2010 Pragyan Ojha DC 21
2011 Lasith Malinga MI 28
2012 Morne Morkel DD 25
2013 Dwayne Bravo CSK 32
2014 Mohit Sharma CSK 23
2015 Dwayne Bravo CSK 26
2016 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar SRH 23
2017 Bhuvaneshwar Kumar SRH 26


What is the Maximum Sixes Cap award in IPL?

In T20 Cricket, boundaries play a key part. One over with few fours and sixes changes the whole course of the match. Not only this, it keeps the pulse of the audience running and keep them hooked to the game. The IPL has made a way to recognise this by awarding the man with the maximum sixes.

Here is the list of first ten winners of IPL Maximum Sixes Award:


Year Maximum Sixes

Award Winner

Team Sixes
2008 Sanath Jayasuriya MI 31
2009 Adam Gilchrist DC 29
2010 Robin Uthappa RCB 27
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 44
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 59
2013 Chris Gayle RCB 51
2014 Glenn Maxwell KXIP 36
2015 Chris Gayle RCB 38
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 38
2017 Glenn Maxwell KXIP 26



What is the IPL Emerging Player Award?

This is the most creative initiative of IPL. They took the decision to reward the best unknown face who shined brightly during the season. Its name is the ‘Emerging Player of the Year’ and it rewards the up and coming player who has showcased his talents in the best way throughout the season.


Year Emerging Player of the Year Team
2008 Shreevats Goswami RCB
2009 Rohit Sharma DC
2010 Saurabh Tiwary MI
2011 Iqbal Abdullah KKR
2012 Mandeep Singh KXIP
2013 Sanju Samson RR
2014 Axar Patel KXIP
2015 Shreyas Iyer DD
2016 Mustafizur Rahman SRH
2017 Basil Thampi GL


IPL Awards set IPL apart from other T20 Leagues in the World

The unique thing about IPL, Australia’s Big Bash League, and Champions League T20 is that these are all franchise leagues. Since money already plays such a big part in these leagues, the organisers have had to find new ways to keep the pulse of the audiences racing at every moment of the game. It is safe to say that the IPL is on the forefront of all franchise leagues.